North Carolina Department of Justice
North Carolina Department of Justice
North Carolina Department of Justice
Submit this request

Campus Safety Task Force to meet in Raleigh on Wednesday

Release date: 6/11/2007

Raleigh: A task force convened by Attorney General Roy Cooper in the wake of the tragic shooting at Virginia Tech will hold its first meeting on Wednesday to improve safety at North Carolina colleges and universities.

“Our goal is to learn from this horrible event and to use those lessons to better protect our North Carolina campuses,” said Cooper. “We owe it to parents, students, faculty and staff at our colleges and universities to be ready if a similar tragedy ever happens here.”

The task force’s objectives are to assess the security of North Carolina institutions of higher learning and to recommend ways to improve campus safety with an emphasis on responding to critical incidents such as a campus shooter. The committee will hear from safety experts, educators, law enforcement and the public at a series of meetings across the state. The group is expected to meet at least four times over the next four months.

The first meeting is scheduled to take place at Estey Hall on the campus of Shaw University in downtown Raleigh from 1:00 PM until 5:30 PM on Wednesday, June 13.

In April, Cooper brought together University of North Carolina System President Erskine Bowles, UNC Board of Governors Chairman Jim W. Phillips, Jr., President of NC Independent Colleges and Universities Dr. Hope Williams, and NC Community College System President Martin Lancaster to launch the task force.

The task force is chaired by Brad Wilson, a member of the UNC Board of Governors and the former NC Secretary of Crime Control and Public Safety.

Members of the task force announced this week are: Scott Bullard, Director for Emergency Services for the NC Community College System; Rollin Donelson, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Public Safety at UNC-Greensboro; Phil Dubois, Chancellor of UNC-Charlotte; Bob Ervin, Associate Vice President for Learning Technologies, Fayetteville Technical Community College; Frances Fontaine, Program Manager and Director of Special Events for NC Independent Colleges and Universities; Willie Gilchrist, Chancellor of Elizabeth City State University; Marureen Hartford, President of Meredith College; Linda Hayes, Chair of the Governor’s Crime Commission; Gerald Hector, Vice President of Business and Finance for Johnson C. Smith University; Jeff McCracken, President of the NC Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators; Regina Lawson, Chief of Police for Wake Forest University; Bentley Pagura, President of the NC Comprehensive Community College Student Government Association; David Rainer, Associate Vice Chancellor for Environmental Health and Safety for NC State University; Lawrence Rouse, President of James Sprunt Community College; Tom Shandley, Vice President for Student Life and Dean of Students for Davidson College; Julie Sitton, Trustee of Western Piedmont Community College; Chris Swecker, Director for Corporate Security at Bank of America; Sheriff Blake Wallace of Duplin County; Leslie Winner, Vice President and General Counsel of the UNC System; and Thomas Younce, Past President of the NC Association of Chiefs of Police.